De Kuyper Salon
Experience the grandeur of life on Parklaan in the Scheepvaartkwartier of Rotterdam. The De Kuyper Salon is located on the piano nobile of the former townhouse of the De Kuyper family from Rotterdam and Schiedam, owners of the well-known family distillery. The principal living floor of the De Kuyper family has been restored to its former splendour and is open to visitors. It can also be hired for receptions, presentations and meetings (maximum 40 persons).
The building on Parklaan 14 was built in 1909-1910 and was designed by the Rotterdam architect A.W. Meijneken for Paul Marie Nicolaas De Kuyper, director of the family-owned distillery. During the Second World War, the Germans requisitioned the townhouse and used it as an office. In 1948, the original owners first leased – and later sold – the building on Parklaan 14 to the Dutch state. In that same year, the townhouse became the home of the Nederlandsch Belastingmuseum (Dutch Tax Museum). During the most recent renovations in 2010-2012, the piano nobile was restored and numerous original features were made visible once more, including the fabric wall coverings.